

GOVERNMENT HOUSE NASSAU, BAHAMAS **PRESS**

RELEASE National Honours Awards 2018

Her Excellency, The Governor-General, as Chancellor of the Societies of Honour established under the National Honours Act 2015, in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister, and the National Honours Advisory Committee is pleased to announce the following awards under the Act.

The Order of National Hero

The Order of National Hero is the most senior Order of The Bahamas, and may be conferred upon any person who meets the conditions set out in Section 9, Sub-Section 5 of the National Honours Act 2016, and given selfless service to The Bahamas of a most distinguished nature.

A member of the Order is entitled to be styled "The Rt. Excellent" and is also entitled to place the letters "N.H". after their name. The Motto of the Order is "Freedom and Justice"

The following have been awarded this Honour *Posthumously*:

The Rt. Excellent Sir Lynden Oscar Pindling, N.H., K.C.M.G.

The Rt. Excellent Sir Roland Theodore Symonette, N.H., K.B.

The Rt. Excellent Sir Milo Boughton Butler, N.H., G.C.M.G

The Rt. Excellent Sir Cecil Vincent Wallace-Whitfield, N.H., K.B.

The Order of the Nation

The award of the Order of the Nation may be conferred upon all persons who have been appointed Governor-General of The Bahamas, and upon all persons who has been appointed as Prime Minister. A member of the Order is conferred with the title "The Most Honourable," and is also entitled to place the letters "O.N." after their name.

Awarded under this Society are:

Governor-General:

Her Excellency, The Most Honourable Dame Marguerite Pindling, O.N., G.C.M.G.

Former Governors-General:

The Most Honourable Sir Orville Turnquest, O.N., G.C.M.G

The Most Honourable Dame Ivy Dumont, O.N., G.C.M.G

The Most Honourable Arthur Hanna, O.N.

The Most Honourable Sir Arthur Foulkes, O.N., G.C.M.G

The following former Governors-General are also awarded under this Society of Honour *Posthumously:*

The Most Honourable Sir Milo Butler, O.N., G.C.M.G

The Most Honourable Sir Gerald Cash, O.N., G.C.M.G

The Most Honourable Sir Henry Milton Taylor, O.N., K.B.

The Most Honourable Sir Clifford Darling, O.N., GCVO

Prime Minister:

The Most Honourable Hubert Alexander Minnis, O.N., M.P.

Former Prime Ministers:

The Rt. Excellent Sir Lynden Oscar Pindling , N.H., O.N., K.C.M.G.

The Most Honourable Hubert Alexander Ingraham, O.N.

The Most Honourable Perry Gladstone Christie, O.N.

<u>The Order of The Bahamas</u>

The award of the Order of The Bahamas is conferred upon any Citizen of The Bahamas who has achieved outstanding distinction in The Bahamas, and given distinguished and exemplary service to The Bahamas.

The Order of The Bahamas includes three ranks of membership, namely Companion, Officer, and Member. A Companion is conferred with the title of "Right Honourable" before their name and to place the letters "C.B." after their name; An Officer is conferred with the title of " Honourable" before their name and is also entitled to place the letters "O.B." after their name: A member is also entitled to place the letters "M.B." after their name. The names of the persons set out below shows the level of the Order to which they are appointed as well as the applicable title and post-nominal.

Companion:

The Rt. Honourable Janet Bostwick, C.B.

The Rt. Honourable Maurice Moore, C.B.

The following have been awarded this Honour Posthumously:

The Honourable Dame Doris Johnson, O.B., DBE

The Order of Distinction

The award of Order of Distinction also includes three ranks of membership and the following have been appointed at the levels of Companion, Officer, or Member. A Companion is entitled place the letters "C.D." after their name; An Officer is entitled to place the letters "O.D." after their name; A member is also entitled to place the letters "D.M." after their name. The names of the persons set out below shows the level of the Order to which they are appointed as well as the applicable title and post-nominal. Persons awarded this Honour are recognized for the exemplary service provided to The Bahamas.

The names of the persons set out below shows the level of the Order to which they are appointed as well as the applicable title and post-nominal.

Companion:

Mrs. Cynthia Pratt, C.D.

Mrs. Anita Bernard, C.D, CMG

Mrs. Eileen Carron, C.D., CMG

Officer:

Dr. Merceline Dahl-Regis, O.M.

Dr. Elwood Donaldson, O.M.

Mr. Lowell Mortimer, O.M., OBE

Mr. Barry Rassin, O.M.

Mrs. Sandra Dean Patterson, O.M.

Dr. Patrick David Roberts, O.M.

Member:

Mr. William Sands, D.M.

Mr. Robert Sweeting, D.M.

The following person have been awarded this Honour *Posthumously:*

Dr. Bernard Nottage, D.M.

The Order of Merit

Office of the Governor General

The award of the Order of Merit may be conferred upon any citizen of The Bahamas who has achieved eminent national or international distinction in the field of science, education, public service, the arts, literature or any other endeavour. The Motto of this Order is "Zeal and Unity".

This Honour also includes three ranks of membership and the following have been appointed at the levels of Companion, Officer, or Member.

A Companion is entitled place the letters "C.M." after their name; An Officer is entitled to place the letters "O.M." after their name; A member is also entitled to place the letters "M.M." after their name.

The names of the persons set out below shows the level of the Order to which they are appointed as well as the applicable title and post-nominal.

Companion:

Rev. Sebastian Campbell, C.M.

Mrs. Pauline Davis-Thompson, C.M.

Officer:

Monsignor Preston Moss, O.M.

Rev. Dr. J. Emmette Weir, O.M.

Member:

Rev. Ervin Clarke, M.M.

Rev. Dr. Gary Curry, M.M.

Rev. Walter Hanchell, M.M.

In accordance with the provisions of the Act, The Chancellor will present these awards on National Heroes Day which falls this year on 9th October.

10th July, 2018

Office of the Governor General

Mount Fitzwilliam,

Nassau, The Bahamas

Embargoed until: 9th July, 2018 at 12 midnight

/sabw

Office of the Governor General

Distribution:

Director, Bahamas Information Services

CC: Secretary to the Cabinet